Posted in Empowerment

Lake Erie Doesn’t Have Beaches

Oh my. Dare I say things are calming down. 

Several nights we ‘accidentally miss our street’ and end up at the boat launch. Lake Erie offers sunsets that rival my favorite pier in Clearwater, Fl. 

This is my youngest learning to love photography.   It follows the whole thirds rule thing and offers beautiful angles. 
Her sister is learning to finesse the images she has. This is just one example.  

Meanwhile they argue with friends that lakes do not have real beaches, only the ocean has beaches.  Like Pier 60, one of my happy places. The waves are smoother, stronger, louder and more powerful. The sand is always cool ro the touch, but the water stays warm. 

This is the month of endings for me, I need to delight in sunsets and hear the waves. My girls are attending banquets, receiving awards, and anticipating summer. I want to be as excited as they are, I do. 

I see my oldest girl, 26, settling into her apartment, which I am so proud of her. I see a girl entering her last year before adulthood. I look back at how mature the youngest has become, don’t forget she already acts like she’s 30.

 I wonder at all the changes. I marvel at their resiliency. I don’t believe they have grieved properly-that’s not really a thing-but I think they are stuffing their pain. However, I love that they are clinging to the things that make them smile! Orange juice, baby birds, sunsets and friends. Is it wierd that I am almost jealous that they aren’t melancholy like me? 

Author:

I have been a Lorain county resident for five years now. Anywhere you go you can see quintessential American life in our backyard. From scarecrows to Organized Labor Day, from urban decay to rural homesteading, and my question has been, "Where is the joy?!" People need more reasons to smile. While I am committed to educating and empowering people, I promise this blog will always share the hope and joy I have.

Leave a Reply

