Posted in Empowerment

Stalked By Happiness

Learning how to not focus on my hurts and trials is an interesting struggle. I think I mentioned, in I Perceive That I Am Fine, that we are grieving several family losses. My blogs are smaller, more concise and melancholic.  Meanwhile once I chose to start practicing gratitude, see Discontent With Discontentment, an interesting pattern began to develop. 

First, let me share that we are never truly alone. In a room full of people, I often feel the grave, bitter cold of loneliness.  Without my church family, I think my situation would be considerably darker. 

Its one thing to be vulnerable with someone you trust; but to share hope in the midst of suffering with someone else who is hurting brings blessing and healing, I believe. Its strong and healthy to choose to see what you have more than all you’ve lost. Its fine to cry, in fact I encourage it. Its okay to not smile all the time, but don’t dwell there. I will even say ‘fake happy’ will slowly kill you. All these things are true and supported in the psychology field and in scripture. 

Where does anyone talk about being stalked by happiness?! I mean it! I feel like there is little things sneaking up just to surprise me. I love bird watching. Every time I am in a car, I am surveying for hawks, eagles, finches, etc. So over the past three weeks I have seen seen many beautiful ones. I have even seen a bluebird! Twice! 

I delight in the excitement of a twelve year old having a weekend with her older sisters. For the first time in eight years, she participated in her first gymnastics class! 

Her sister is excited to begin her “Year of Lasts,” aka Senior Year. A friend is taking us along on a trip to Nashville. She will see Vanderbilt College. Oh, and we get to see Reba McEntire

I think I am being stalked by happiness…

Author:

I have been a Lorain county resident for five years now. Anywhere you go you can see quintessential American life in our backyard. From scarecrows to Organized Labor Day, from urban decay to rural homesteading, and my question has been, "Where is the joy?!" People need more reasons to smile. While I am committed to educating and empowering people, I promise this blog will always share the hope and joy I have.

Leave a Reply

