Posted in Empowerment

Learning To Free Fall

Now that we are all another week wiser, what insights have you found? Any epiphanies of self-reflection? Some revelation of other-centeredness we can relate to? 

Totally sharing that this week I added an item to my Bucket List!  I have an obsession with skydiving. I would absolutely love to wear that skysuit and jump over the Grand Canyon. 

Seriously though, I receive encouragement occasionally as a lady will comment her affirmation of this blog. We can all empathize with one another and make light of our situations. Honestly some of you are living your own personal hell and you may be utterly alone.  Each week we connect in the gap that is found in our hearts. I hope that, whether its on WordPress, Facebook or with a friend, that you, reader, will begin your own dialogue. 

I found myself standing in the gap for both my daughter and my husband this weekend. She was too direct, too authoritarian again, and he felt threatened by her demeanor. A simple miscommunication, (nothing’s ever simple in my house) quickly flipped the switch of insecurities, rejections, pain and misery. 

Arguments that are never resolved tend to evolve, I say. 

Meanwhile I am proud of how she apologized and worked her new skills. I will refrain from sharing the lecture he received. I just hope my brutally honest assessment of our current life helps him move out of his depression and get help. Unfortunately, I will say that I actually used the phrase, “If this is as good as it [marriage] gets, that’s fine…” Ouch!

All this to say, we have to learn how to do this thing called LIFE.  I personally don’t feel that we are entitled to ‘good things’ and we have to steal, squeeze and find the ‘good’ from every circumstance we can.  (You won’t find that painted on Etsy).

Like the song lyrics from one of my least favorite country bands, Florida-Georgia Line, says, “You learn to fly, and if you can’t, then you just free fall.” Its a picture of release and freedom, not impaling yourself upon landing! (I know what some of you were thinking!)

Share your dreams and struggles so that others may be encouraged. Complaining is not the same thing.  I carefully dance on the thin line separating two. However, if I stuffed it all in, I would probably be catatonic by now.  Help me learn to free-fall…

Author:

I have been a Lorain county resident for five years now. Anywhere you go you can see quintessential American life in our backyard. From scarecrows to Organized Labor Day, from urban decay to rural homesteading, and my question has been, "Where is the joy?!" People need more reasons to smile. While I am committed to educating and empowering people, I promise this blog will always share the hope and joy I have.

Leave a Reply

